Wanted: Partner to Whip my Butt into Shape

You read that right. I’m looking for a partner to kick my ass. Nope, I’m not talking about a life partner or personal trainer. What I’m in need of is a writing partner to hold me accountable.

One of the perks of being a freelance writer is not having a boss. Interestingly enough, one of the downfalls of being a freelance writer is not having a boss. Unless I’m rushing to meet deadlines for a client or an article for a magazine, I have no one to make sure I get other work done like my queries, book proposals or new marketing plans. And quite honestly, no cares if  I get that work done. Why should they? It’s not anyone else’s job but mine.

But when you don’t have a boss you have no one breathing down your neck making sure you are successful. It’s up to me to find that motivation on my own. It’s not always that easy. Those of you who work for someone in a cubicle don’t have that problem. No, I don’t I want a boss to work for, but you get the picture.

What I need is a writing partner to kind of act like a boss – the kind you actually like though. But instead of working for the boss. We’d be working together. To depend on each other to reach our goals.

You see, since I started writing full-time I’ve found that I’ve started to lose myself. I came into this determined to change the world with writing and have a bunch of books, investigative pieces, and earth moving stories under my belt. Instead, I’ve found myself getting stuck writing unexciting projects for copywriting clients, trendy service pieces for national publications and whatever else can pay the bills at the moment. Don’t get me wrong, I sill LOVE what I do and want to make a difference but I’ve seemed to lose sight of that along the way. I no longer push myself as hard as I should to nab those earth shattering article assignments and claim that greatest Fortune 500 copywriting client. I don’t dedicate as much time as I should to churning out those personal essays, creating topics for that potential education column. I need someone to help me find that desire and focus to reach those heights again.

Most importantly, I would love to have a writing companion. Working for yourself can get rather lonely. As much as I love venting to my fiance about what it’s like to send 20 queries a day without getting a single response, I’m thinking he wouldn’t get it as much as an actually writer would.

Of course, this wouldn’t be a one-side relationship. I’d help you with deadlines, establish goals, and reach your full potential as well.

So here it is… My cheesy want ad –

Wanted: Writing partner to kick my lazy, un-focused, lonely butt into shape. Must: Be totally focused, motivated, and deadline driven. Have the ability to offer open, honest criticism and not have a problem with people who can talk your ear off.

Interested? Leave a comment  right now and we’ll chat!

Are you a solopreneur? How do you stay motived and hold yourself accountable?

TERRIfic Quip: Create the life you want. Not the life you think you should want.

3 Comments to “Wanted: Partner to Whip my Butt into Shape”

  1. Hi Terri! I’m Nicole; we recently connected on LinkedIn. I’m just entering the world of freelance writing myself, so right now there’s some lull periods. What I’m saying is that I’d totally be up for the challenge of being your writing partner! I’ve always been really good at maintaining my own deadlines, both for the publications my work has appeared in and for my own personal blog. This sounds like it’d be a really great opportunity, and I am definitely interested. I can leave you my phone number or email address if you want – let me know!

    Thanks!

    Nicole Malczan

  2. once you find the right accountability partner – you’re gonna be blown away by the changes you see in yourself. the self-discipline factor increases dramatically because you don’t want to look like a total slacker in the eyes of your work buddy.

    congrats to you on striking out full-time in the freelance world…looking forward to reading all you have to share!

Leave a Reply

