Archive for February 22nd, 2012

February 22, 2012

Diamonds are Nice But I Prefer Referrals: Referrals are a Freelancer’s Best Friend

I know it’s shocking considering I just got a diamond of my own, but it’s true! When you are a full-time freelance professional, nothing is better than a referral. Mostly because it makes a freelancers jobs so much easier. I speak from experience. Depending on your tactics, marketing can cost a lot of money. So when you give a referral not only does it save us money, it frees up some more time for freelancers to dedicate on making sure your project is done absolutely perfectly. Meaning you actually get more for your money. It’s a win-win situation.

So under what circumstances, should you give a referral for your freelancer of choice? Anytime you are satisfied with their work or simply had a pleasurable experience. The only time I may suggest you refrain from that is if the person you hired clearly states that his or her schedule is way too full to take on more clients. And even then, you may not need to because you never know when schedules clear up down the line. So please, spread the love for the freelancer in your life (hopefully me).

And we don’t care how you do it. You can tweet, email, make a Linkedin update, put it in a Facebook status, write a blog post, or call someone. Whatever your outlet of choice, use it to shout your freelance love from the mountain tops. Trust me; it benefits everyone.